Honoring Our 2022 Kirkland Chamber of Commerce and Kirkland Downtown Association Award Winners

On Thursday, December 8, Chamber members and guests attended the 87th Annual Greater Kirkland Chamber of Commerce Awards Luncheon at the Heathman Hotel to honor members who have contributed significantly to our community. The common theme for all of the award winners was the desire to make a difference through volunteerism.

 Congratulations to all of our 2022 award winners!

Duane Lund Chamber Member of the Year Award
Awarded to:  Alicia Quaco, Eastside Health Network

 The Chamber Member of the Year Award is named in memory of A. Duane Lund, a highly regarded local attorney who served as president of the Washington State Trial Lawyers Association. It is presented to a member who has contributed significantly above and beyond what is normally called for in connection with Chamber volunteer service.

Anne J. Owen Community Service Award
Awarded to:  Terri Fletcher, Hallmark Realty

 The Community Service Award is named in memory of Anne J. Owen, a past board member, and an outstanding community member. The award honors a Chamber member who, like its namesake, performs special community service over an extended period of time and contributes above and beyond.

Charles O. Morgan Business Excellence Award
Awarded to:  Lee Johnson Auto Family

 Chuck Morgan who was one of Kirkland’s patriarchs, was often called “Mr. Kirkland.” He was the long-time publisher of what became the Eastside Journal, the first newspaper on the Eastside. The Charles O. Morgan Business Excellence award is presented by the Peter Kirk Club to the Kirkland Business that reflects business citizenship, leadership and contributes to the quality of life in the community.

William C. Woods Above and Beyond Award
Awarded to:  Amy Mutal, Preval Wealth Management

 The William C. Woods Above and Beyond Award is named in honor of Bill Woods, a long-time Kirkland community leader. He has been the consummate volunteer for various community organizations and made his mark with his involvement in the creation of the Kirkland Performance Center and was a vital member of the Kirkland City Council and served the city as mayor from 1966-1974.
Lee Johnson Student Community Service Award
Awarded to:   Jayden Namvong, Juanita High School

 Named in memory of Lee Johnson, this award is based on two themes: community service and youth. Lee felt that the key to success was to give back to the community. The Lee Johnson Student Community Service Award is given to a student in the Kirkland community who has shown a great drive to be involved in curricular and extracurricular activities.

Merrily Dicks Community Arts & Culture Award
Awarded to:   Chris Lye, Board President, Kirkland Arts Center
Merrily Dicks is and has always been the embodiment of what it means to be an advocate for the arts, culture, and heritage in Kirkland. She has worked tirelessly to promote art in all its many forms for community members of all ages. Her involvement in the formation of the Creative Arts League (now called Kirkland Arts Center), the Heritage Society, Summerfest, and the Kirkland Cultural Arts Commission has helped to make Kirkland the thriving, beautifully scenic city we all love. Merrily Dicks is a vital part of Kirkland’s arts community and we are honored to name this Arts Award after her, and to recognize those in the community who share in Merrily’s creative drive and vision.
Heart of Kirkland Award
Awarded to:   Francine Deymonez-Taylor, “The Litter Lady”

 Inspired by the 2022 recipient, the Heart of Kirkland Award is awarded to an individual that quietly cleans up or beautifies the community on a regular basis for an extended period of time without being asked. This person shows a big heart for the community by jumping in to help when they see a tangible need. Examples are: consistently picking up litter, weeding medians, or cleaning up graffiti.

Scott Becker Outstanding Ambassador of the Year Award
 Awarded to:  Brenda Kauffman

 At this celebration the Outstanding Ambassador of the Year award was named in honor of Scott Becker who has been an exemplary Ambassador through the years. This award recognizes an active ambassador who person attends multiple events, actively recruits new members, and consistently reaches out to new and existing members. They are a connector of people and help to build relationships.

President’s Award
Awarded to:  Troy Longwith and Tanner Erickson, Duffy Electric Boats NW

 As Chamber president, we see a lot of behind-the-scenes work of people that contribute to our events and often do so under the radar. These are our unsung heroes of the Chamber, often volunteers and donors that our members may not even know of their contributions. This is selected by the current president.

Kirkland Downtown Association Awards:

Teddy Overleese “Teddy” Award
Awarded to:  Stan Corpuz
Named after Teddy Overleese, 1999 founding executive director of Kirkland Downtown on the Lake, this award is given to individuals who have demonstrated their willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty. Their concern is always what is best for the organization and community.

Dick Beazell Friend of Kirkland Leadership Award
Awarded to: Lynn DuPaul

 As a longtime Kirkland merchant and owner of Pelican’s Wharf, Dick Beazell was always thinking of ways to get more people downtown, or in his words: “Let’s get more feet on the streets!” Dick was involved for 17 years with the Greater Kirkland Chamber of Commerce, and several more spent at the Kirkland Downtown Association and its predecessor, Kirkland Downtown on the Lake.